A Blankie for Boopie… and so it grows

Boopie’s Blankie is coming along nicely. K1b (Knit One Below) is a technique that is amazingly simple and yet – for me at least – has also had a learning curve as far as the actual kinesthetic memory of  it goes. I’m a combination knitter: purling by wrapping under the stitch and untwisting the resulting stitch on the knit row. I didn’t start out this way, but years of wear and tear on my wrists from my RSD have caused me to knit differently than I started. Combination knitting is less wearing on my wrists than so-called traditional Western knitting. It does, however, mean that I need to make some changes in the way I read standard directions and in the way I perform certain knitting operations. This is especially true when doing the Knit One Below technique.

Cover of "Knit One Below: One Stitch, Man...

Cover via Amazon

In knitting this blanket, with it’s resulting color columns I’ve learned I have to be patient. At first it looks like nothing exciting. But if I persevere the fabric hanging off my needles begins to arrange itself into something almost magical, in both visual characteristics and in drape. For a recovering perfectionist, like me, it’s taken a lot of trust to let my fabric get to that point. I can’t tell you how many projects I frogged when first learning this technique simply because I didn’t trust my needles to produce what I saw in the photos.

This blanket, in particular, has been a departure from perfectionism in that I don’t have a pattern for it. I looked at various elements from different patterns in the book, Knit One Below, by Elise Duvekot and combined what I liked for Boopie’s Blankie. This forces me to stop comparing my product to the photos and let it be what it is!

:)

So how about you? What projects have challenged you to think differently? To pay more – or less – attention to detail? To learn new techniques or new ways of looking at your knitting? Do you always knit the pattern? or do you strike out into new territory, accepting the results as they come? What makes knitting (or crochet, spinning,  needlework, cooking, crafting…) worthwhile for you?

4 thoughts on “A Blankie for Boopie… and so it grows

  1. That’s a good question. I think I gravitate toward these crafts for the therapeutic properties involved in repetitive motions. Not really interested in a whole lot of thinking when I knit or spin. That said, the TIME spent knitting and spinning has a way of helping me resolve issues in other hairier areas of my life. Maybe it’s the quiet or the stillness? Kinda weird, lol.

    • Thank you for answering!
      No, I don’t think your observation is weird. In fact I did a post last spring about the research that’s been done into the benefits of knitting in areas of pain management, education, mental health…

  2. Okay, I really have abandoned knitting. I mean I’ve had time, but I guess there’s some other stuff that I need to get done :)
    My mom wants me and Abby to learn how to make scarves. (perferably one for her lol) I’ll get to it in that case!

Please Leave a Reply

