“Thinkin’ About it” Thursday

Smooth Jazz

Smooth Jazz (Photo credit: Photo Gallery)

358 Days ’til 40: Music as Therapy.

I loved the above blog entry so much that I shared it on Facebook and Google+; and decided to follow the author. I’ve long been a believer in music as therapy, and in the concept of altering one’s mood by altering one’s music. Those of you who are my students have, perhaps, noticed that I like to have music in the background while we’re together and that I generally prefer – for those times – music that is uplifting, both in lyrics and in musical tone & rhythm. That is intentional.

But what about when I’m alone? I change my music throughout the day to suit my mental state and activity. For instance, smooth jazz isn’t a good choice when it’s important for me to be physically active, but it’s great for “chillin’.” Rock, or classical Russian composers, can often give me the energy & enthusiasm to tackle a job I’m less than thrilled about doing, but I’m not going to play that kind of music right before I want to sleep!

So what does that have to do with crafting? A lot! Many of you know that I pray for people while I knit, particularly if I’m knitting a piece for a specific person with a specific need. But prayer – and crafting… and life, for that matter – can use the support of good surroundings: physical surroundings and emotional/spiritual surroundings. Music can play a big part in those surroundings. I find that well-crafted music can take me out of less-than-perfect physical surroundings and put me on a higher plane. And, yes, those “less-than-perfect physical surroundings” can include the ups and downs of my own body’s erratic medical condition! Music helps me to have some positive control over the [largely] uncontrollable.

And…. music speaks to both sides of the brain, so it can affect not only your mood, but also your technical skills (at least that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it)! ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

So what are your surroundings throughout your day? Can youย be intentional about them? Do you craft a nurturing atmosphere around those for whom you are responsible? Does music play a part in that?

6 thoughts on ““Thinkin’ About it” Thursday

  1. Just the other day I found that listening to some of my downloaded Journey (yes, that is the 80’s rock band!) music got me moving…got a lot of baking and housework done that morning! I am careful to listen to music that is honoring to the Lord…so there are times I turn certain songs off. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Lesa

    • My DH [Dear Husband/Darling Hunky?] is, I’ve noticed, far less sensitive to lyrics than I am. He (like many men?) simply doesn’t hear what he doesn’t want to hear, whereas I – like you – can’t filter out lyrics that don’t reflect my own spirituality.
      That’s just one of many reasons we generally choose to use Pandora to bring music into our space. Its music genome software is pretty good at finding music that reflects our desire of the moment, while still allowing us to nix specific songs that don’t fit into our needs, lifestyle, etc.
      And, yes, Lesa, I’m of your generation. DH and I are both fond of Journey. We’ve noticed though that since I’ve spent most of my adult life working with youth I tend to also enjoy a lot more of the edgier Contemporary Christian than he does.

  2. I personally love to listen to music! I love so many Christian artists, that’s ALL I listen to, period.
    Normally I can’t listen to music during school though, ha ha ha! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • ๐Ÿ™‚
      Lauren, when I was home-schooling my kids I tended to play Mozart’s violin pieces, in the background, during school hours. It’s not because I’m nuts about Mozart but because music does help information to sink into the brain. Mozart’s music tends toward the highly mathematical and so is especially useful in that way.
      When the kids later went to a public school I had an occasion to make a trip to the school during the day and chuckled to myself when I got into the halls. The principal was piping Mozart through the school’s sound system!

      • That’s funny! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, I’m sure that Mom wouldn’t mind Mozart, except that we probably couldn’t hear it anyway due to Luke and Lindsay. Okay…maybe they aren’t that loud! ๐Ÿ™‚

Please Leave a Reply

