Seek Justice

 

 

 

Street photography - photograph of a child wat...

Learn to do good. Seek justice. Arrest oppressors. Defend orphans. Plead the case of widows”  Isaiah 1:17 [GOD’S WORD translation]

 

NOTE: While I’m writing this post from a Christian perspective, please note that virtually all spiritualities have similar sayings/mores/themes which correspond.

How we treat children and single parents has always been a topic near and dear to my heart. Lately my family has been privy to some issues which bring it to the forefront again.

 

We’ve probably all seen the pictures of children halfway around the world who are starving and living in deplorable conditions. I do agree that if everyone in the US (or any well-developed nation) shared a small amount of their abundance – and yes, it is abundance compared to what most of the world experiences – then those children would see a vastly different future.

 

But, today, my heart is breaking for the child next door. You know the one. He (or she) is that bratty, snot-nosed kid who talks back to us, runs through our nicely (or not) manicured yards and/or teases our pets/children/etc. She’s the one our kids (or grandkids) don’t want to play with, or associate with in school, because “she smells funny” and/or wears “weird clothes.” They’re the ones with the exasperating parent who never seems to do anything but scream at his/her out-of-control kids (who have heard it all before and just aren’t listening).

 

What about those kids? Are we aware that poor hygiene may be symptom of sexual abuse?  Or – as it was for a boy with whom my son went to school – a severely ill parent?  Did we stop to ask ourselves why that boy/girl seems to have a chip on the shoulder all the time?  Have we stopped to look at that child with eyes that see a person?  A child created in our Creator‘s image?  Do we really believe what we claim to believe?

 

And what about that exasperating parent?  Could she/he use a hand?  A listening ear?  Some time with other adults?  Are we helping the situation to the best of our ability?  Have we seen something that really should be reported and all attempts to lovingly confront the responsible adult have failed?  Are we enabling (and thereby participating in) someone’s dangerous behavior by pretending we don’t see?  We are culpable.  We are mandated to be actively and practically involved in our worlds.   [James 2:15-16, Isaiah 58:6-12 ]

I don’t expect for you to answer to me on any of these questions, indeed, you do not answer to me!  But I do hope that they spark some soul-searching in your own hearts, as they have – once again – in mine.

 

“And he will answer, ‘I tell you the truth, when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.” [NEW LIVING TRANSLATION 2007]

Child 1

Child 1 (Photo credit: Tony Trần)

 

4 thoughts on “Seek Justice

  1. I agree with all that you mentioned in this post!
    I totally agree with the whole verse of Isaiah 1:17, but my favorite part is “Defend Orphans” My favorite verse of course is James 1:27 which says: Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: TO LOOK AFTER ORPHANS and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

    God calls us to take care of orphans and so that is part of why mom and dad wanted to help orphans in some way, so adoption, that was one of the ways they felt called to serve God.

    Thank You Mrs. Lin for posting this! I know that you weren’t going for adoption, but that’s what I got out of it 🙂

    Oh, sorry about not giving you the 10 inch square. I was going to, but you were talking and I had to go. You may not even need it now. I could use it for something else.

    • Lauren, I was kind of going for adoption. Not just legal adoption, but realizing that the children around us may need for us to be engaged. To simply say, “Well, I raised mine: I’m done,” doesn’t fit with what I see in Scripture. Obviously, your family feels the same way!
      🙂
      As to your square: there is still need for it in the blanket if you still want to use it that way. This is yet another way to help orphans. OTOH, if you have another use for it, I know it will be a good one. Your call!
      🙂

Please Leave a Reply

